How does everyone TRULY feel about traveling to PP?

Hi everyone,

I have been traveling to PP for 6 years with no problems, other than a nice hangover. With everything I have been reading, for the first time I am scared to go. I have NEVER been one to buy into the media or any of that scare tactic garbage. However been reading a lot of posts on here. What scares me the most are these "checkpoints" or random stops? I am thinking about going down with my family (husband and 2 kids) I just want to know how the people who have been regulars going down there really feel about traveling now?

I am so sad that I even feel this way....I TRULY love PP, and have DEFENDED it for years.

Thanks,
Renee

mis2810

I'm leaving on Thursday, and I feel a little more "sensitive" - not even sure if that's the right word. My husband and I talked about it last night and we've decided that it's not going to change how we feel about PP at all. If anything, we actually feel like since we're not afraid that's all the more reason to go and spend money down there locally. People in PP are truly suffering. It's been one bad blow after another for them for the last 2 years.

As for the checkpoints, you have no reason to be afraid of them. I'm assuming of course, you're not going to be carrying guns or drugs in the car with you. Years and years ago, before many travels throughout Mexico, I was intimidated by the military checkpoints also. But, most of the soldiers are just young boys carrying ugly-looking weapons. They have mothers, fathers, and sisters in far off places in Mexico that are very worried about them. I have a new perspective of this because my husband's niece is married to a Federale in Mexico. He's some kind of an officer and makes a more than decent living for Mexico, but it's no day at the beach. He's gone for months at a time and with all the violence in the locations he's being sent to, they are constantly worried for his safety.