Surf fishing?

I’m new to this part of the world. I’ve been a surf and flats fisherman for years, but I’ve discovered that there isn’t to much salt water in Arizona. So it’s Rocky Point for fishing. I don’t have a boat, don’t really like fishing from a boat – prefer the surf or flats. From the pictures I’ve seen of Puerto Penasco I don’t think I’ll find any flats to work either. So that leaves the surf and piers.
If you have any surf fishing location to share, or know of any fishing piers you’ll be my friend forever.
I’m a transplanted Texan and just lookin for a place to wet a line (with reasonable chance of catching a fish).
Thanks,
Michael

Attachments

There are two active threads regarding surf fishing below.
Search this site for Morua or La Pinta. Or Pelican Point - all good places to fish from shore.

mexicoruss

Lovin it in RP!
Whenever we are at Pelican Point....there are more than a few locals with their poles and 5 gallon buckets catching (not just fishing) so thats where I would start.....maybe tomorrow.....no tomorrow thats golf maybe later....

garyd

Whenever we are at Pelican Point....there are more than a few locals with their poles and 5 gallon buckets catching (not just fishing) so thats where I would start.....maybe tomorrow.....no tomorrow thats golf maybe later....
I want to start shore fishing How do I get to Pelican point?

moore_rb

Stay Thirsty My Friends
Just drive into Cholla Bay on the main road, and stay on it past JJ's, and keep working your way to the Southwest as it loops around....

When you can go no further west, and no further south, then walk down to the rocks and fish.

Roberto

If you are not familiar with Penasco you may not realize that we have 'surf' very infrequently. The sea is generally relatively flat unless it is very windy. You can fish anywhere along the beach through las Conchas and as mentioned the estuaries, la Cholla and even the old pier at the Old Port are popular fishing spots.