Fishing/ Clamming at LaPinta

CBFinet

Hello all. First time poster here but i've found lots of useful info so far.

My parents recently got a place near pelican point. I've been down once and picked up some rock bas and what I think were leather jacks from the reef near the rv park.

I'm hoping to make it to La Pinta when I'm down around new years to try for flounder, corvina, and possible dig some clams. I may be picking up a used zodiac before then but for now am just fishing from the beach.

Any suggestions for areas to try for any or all of the above? I found some directions for getting to the beach near fish camp and Mayan... I'm hoping to make a day of it- fish the high tide, dig clams for a while on the low tide, and then fish the incoming tide. Planning on using drop shot rigs w/ squid for flounder and then casting spoons and swim/jerk baits if I can find any fish or pelicans working bait.

Is the beach there decent to launch a 12 ft Zodiac? I'm fairly new to Mexico fishing so any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance and also for all the helpful information i've found here so far.

Chris

AZ ROB

If you go from a motorized Zodiac I believe you will need a Mexican fishing license.. Others may have more knowledge about this but it is one thing you dont want to be caught without. Talked to a guy who got busted while fishing off of a Jet ski.

playaperro

El Pirata
Sorry about the Hi-jack Chris, yes you can launch there, I would pay someone to help launch the zodiac, salt water very bad for the vehicle and trailer.

Roberto

There is a huge clam bed at La Pinta. Park at the old hacienda and go left down the beach for about 1/4 mile. Watch for a large white cube to your left at the edge of the beach. There is an old reef there, very rocky but lots and lots of clams. You hardly have to dig at low tide. Sometimes you will see them pissing up in the air.