Flying into RP

kazpilot25

OK... So I am a private pilot with a twin engine airplane flying out of Deer Valley in Phoenix and was wondering if anyone else here is a pilot or has experience flying into mexico or RP? I have looked into it and it seems as if there is quite a bit of paperwork involved, but maybe it's just intimidating the first time going international.

I am going down for my birthday in the middle of may and would love to make the flight.

PC12PILOT

I think I can help you out with this. I fly 2 PC-12’s out of DVT, and fly to MMPE all the time. If you are planning to fly down in mid may, and don’t have a CBP account you need to start Now.
Two good resources are the AOPA and Baja Bush pilots, both can walk you through steps. Or you can email your number to me and I will help you out.

Greg

kazpilot25

Thanks Greg! I will check out those resources and see what I can find. How do you like the new airport down there? How are the services (fuel, etc.)?

PC12PILOT

I like the new airport much better then the old one. Mostly for the ramp space, I have had trouble parking a Pilatus at the old airport because the ramp was so small. The runway is very nice except for the markings, very hard to see, also runway 36 you can get LLWS. We never buy fuel at MMPE but fuel is available. Same staff as the old airport, very nice people and they like there tips(paper work gets done faster) As for paper work get a three ring binder with some clear sleeves, one for each item I.E. pilot, aircraft, Mexico, CBP, insurance, you get the point. Make two copies of every thing and put it in the binder. That way when you see the Comandante everything will be organized and he won’t need to make copies.