Is buying a condo a good investment?

tyler

I like pie.
Staff member
Ever since I went down to RP the first time, I've always wanted to buy a condo.

However, I can't go down there as much as I like, because of my job. I wonder if it's considered a good investment... As more and more condos are being built up, I imagine the rentals have been slowing down.

If anyone wants to share any information (how much of your monthly payment is paid by rentals, etc?) that would be good to people like me.

Jim

10 or so years ago when I bought my little shack here there was only one condo development and they were selling 3 bedroom ocean view condos for $99000. At that time there was no finacncing but I thought that it was a riduculous price. Now the same condo sells for $500,000 or more. I am not an expert on the condos but I know there are alot of people hurting for money right now and there alot of resales on the market. As far as making your payment with the rent... don't count on it. Maybe, but don't cash in your 401K to do it. I think that in the long run it is a very good investment, but right now is a diffucult time here and in the USA.

B

BienVida

I think buying a condo is still a good investment, but it depends on your goals. If you're looking for something to start generating an income for you through rentals.... be careful. So if you need to mortgage and want rental income in order to pay that mortgage, bad idea right now IMO. You want to inquire as to whether the development you buy into allows owners to rent on their own (not all do). If they do, then you could market on VRBO or Craigslist, but that means work on your part.

The flip side is, now is a good time to buy as far as prices! There are alot of people in trouble, who are under selling their completely furnshed condo's. That saves you alot of money and work in setting a condo up.