Las Palomas Question

Update: I was interested in two condos for sale in phase I and contacted the owners to rent their units and both told me they could not rent at all with the restrictions of the resort. One told me it was difficult to even allow guests to stay for free because it made them look suspicious. He confirmed that the HOA was considering charging a daily fee for all guests to discourage renting.

Sounds like too much trouble and have decided not to purchase at at this time. Is it the same experience at the Sonoran for owners that do not rent their condos?

DeniseAck

Hi all--really total newbie to the forums here. My husband and I are coming down on April 29th for the first time. I may be nuts, but we'd like to live there for most of the year, sight unseen. Life is just too hectic and there's no way to afford to retire to the beach in the US. Our kids are still in school, so we're talking about moving in 5-6 years. The prices are SO low that it seems like the time to buy is within the next year. Of course, every realtor will say that prices are rising, we would need to buy NOW. The idea would be to rent out the property when we're not using it until we're there full time(ish).

However, with so many condos available for rent and/or purchase, I think there's an awful lot more supply than demand. To put faith in making money while the property's empty takes a huge leap. And honestly, it seems like the condo fees aren't cheap. I've seen everything from $100 to $500 a month. With $300 being the average, it would be better just to rent someone's condo for $700-1000 a month it seems. Hmph! Difficult decisions!

Any more thoughts, pro or con?

marybna