Stop and count to 3

ernesto

Got clipped by the ginger haired cop at Fremont and Josefa yesterday. Didn't stop me 'til I got up by the church. Said I rolled the stop. No mention of mordida, took my license and registration ,made me follow to police station.They wanted 1612 pesos, about a hundred bucks. I called bullshit and asked to see the judge. 10 minutes later I was in front of a pleasant 40 something lady in a little office with my amigo and the cop. My buddy was my testigo and she listened to the story , offered to settle for $50. I told her this was still a shakedown, and amounted to a "gringo tax". She didn't seem to like that and said she had to believe the cop and that he also stops Mexicans there. The cop had a tablet that he showed my buddy. It had a bunch of info about me as a property owner, even tho I never had a problem with the law here.
I told her I have been coming here for many years obey the laws as evidence by no legal history. I said I have total respect for the people here and have a resident card. She offered a $38 fine and said that was the best she could do. I understand how she had to support the cop but told her I would post my experience on the net. She said that's your right to express your opinion.
I paid, shook hands with the cop, he apologized, smiling. I ran into a Mexican friend later in the day who saw me pulled over , said that guy is well known for stopping only gringos.
Beware and use the 3 count! It has been years since I have been stopped.

Any chance you weren't paying attention and didn't come to a full stop? People get lost in thought and conversation sometimes. I know in the states many, many people profess their innocence on minor traffic infractions but in reality they did it.

I agree with you on the warning side. On the other hand, my take on the cops in Mexico is they are money hungry and will rarely cut a gringo a warning.

jerry