advice for near shore fishing

CBFinet

advice needed for near shore fishing

First of all I want to say thanks to everyone on the forum for all the useful information I've been able to find here. I'm fairly new to saltwater fishing but have had a lot of fun with a handful of trips over the last year.

I managed to pick up a 13 ft Zodiac this Spring and have only had it out once in March launching from Tucson Beach. We picked up a bunch of spotted bass and a few corvina.

I'm headed down for a short trip next weekend and will have 2 days to fish on 9/6-9/7. I'll have my fiancée and an old friend from college w/ his girlfriend so it will be a full boat and slow going with the 6 hp motor I'm working with.

I've read about a rock pile near shore off the PDO ramp and also found some structure off of Pelican Point into Cholla Bay. Does anyone have suggestions on where to try within 1-2 miles of shore for a chance at smaller grouper or sierra? It looks like 10-12 mph winds so would it be safer to stay in Cholla? I have a 2wd SUV so it looks like Tucson Beach or the boat launch at the marina would be the best options to start from.

Any tips would be appreciated. I'd like for everyone to have a good time and catch some fish but I'd also like a chance at maybe some larger fish (corvina, small grouper, sierra etc.)

i can return the favor in beer if anyone's in town that weekend.
Thanks in advance,
Chris

Last edited:

dmcauley

Look in the past posts and you'll find some good tips on trolling offshore for leapard grouper. I know that if you troll on the west side of Cholla and past competition hill that there is a good chance to nail Leopard Grouper

jerry

You guys get up early and get the fishing/launching out of the way...then take the girls for a trollwith one pole

CBFinet

Thanks guys.