Is buying a condo a good investment?

I see this topic was started back in '08 when the economy wasn't so hot. How would you describe things now? Still a good investment? I'm a nurse and work 3-4 days a week leaving plenty of time to head down to RP. Lemme know!

gord

I see this topic was started back in '08 when the economy wasn't so hot. How would you describe things now? Still a good investment? I'm a nurse and work 3-4 days a week leaving plenty of time to head down to RP. Lemme know!
I am sure everyone will have their own opinion about whether prices will rise, fall, or stay the same. I believe they have been generally increasing over the last year or so. But I do want to point out a couple of important considerations: the value of currency and transaction fees and taxes.
I bought a condo in December of 2014. At that time a US dollar (USD) would buy about 13 Mexican Pesos (MXP). Now it is more like 18. PP condos are typically priced in USD, but the actual transaction is completed in MXP. So, let's assume the condo did not change in value in USD over the December 2014 to May 2016 period. Still, if I sold it the Mexican tax authority would probably see it as a capital gain of (18-13)/13 = almost 40% and I would owe them something like 12% of the value of the condo as Mexican Income Tax!
The moral of the story is that it is important to consider what you think the value of the USD with respect to the MXP will do over time as well as the purchase price.
Also, buying and selling fees are high in Mexico. On a $120k USD condo we paid about $9k in fees and taxes for the purchase, and the seller paid a similar amount.