Military Cehck point hurting Rocky point

MNK003

I apologize if this has been discussed, but I just came back from RP yesterday and couldn't believe the jack-wagons manning the military checkpoint. Let me say that I have been coming down for 12+ years and have zero worry over corruption or any goofy preconceived ideas on Mexico.....I know EXACTLY what it's all about. Both entering and exiting I was (to be polite) berated for not speaking Spanish. Also, when they searched my car (which I am fine with) they were joking around and tossing crap wherever they wanted. They knew I didn't speak Spanish so they thought it was a joke.

I was polite, but if someone in the States acted like these kids were acting I would have had a different position. I'm not gonna get into an argument with a Mexican military "official", but I'm betting a lot of people won't be returning if they get treated like I did. Sad to see a bunch of 20-something "tools" treating their jobs like they are Barney Fife.

MNK003

I should probably clarify my post/thread....it's not the Military checkpoint that could hurt Rocky Point, but rather the way they are treating people....BIG big difference. I have no problem with the check point at all.

mexicoruss

Lovin it in RP!
They are young, they are conscripted (for the most part) they have zero knowledge of tourism....zero. Be patient they will learn this is the way they learn. As things move forward I believe that they will be trained better. Ojala!

playaperro

El Pirata
I should probably clarify my post/thread....it's not the Military checkpoint that could hurt Rocky Point, but rather the way they are treating people....BIG big difference. I have no problem with the check point at all.
Agreed, I heard (hearsay) and my sources are pretty good that they just changed out the sold gers that were manning the check point, also said the line was over a mile long!