Fishing on Thursday

Jim

I have some family coming from Minnesota and we would like to go fishing on Thursday. I have always had a boat for the last 10 years but sold mine about 6 months ago and have not had the money to replace it. Of course we are willing to pay. There will be 3 or 4 of us and they want $800 to take The Joker out for the day. That is a bit rich for my blood. Something around $100 each sounds better. I do want to go for real fish, not 3 miles out to picki up triggers. If anyone has an idea, please let me know. Thanks

B

bahiatrader

Try Pepe Cruz. [email protected], 638-105-9720. Pepe has been recommended to me as a good fisherman with a good boat and reasonable prices. I have no personal knowledge of him, but he was recommended to me by a guy I trust. Cory sent me some pics of some pretty nice fish he caught with Señor Cruz

Stuart

Aye carumba!!!
Staff member
Right now, Thursday looks great for fishing - both tides and Buoyweather. Subject to change, as always. From Friday on, Buoyweather looks pretty crappy for the coming weekend.

$800 is not that bad for a big boat like Joker for the day. Split it between 4 guys and it's $200 a piece, plus tip, fish cleaning, etc. I don't charter per se, I "take friends fishing." However, I generally ask the same price - $200 each for 3 guys, a full day of fishing. I could take four, but I'm all about everybody having a quality fishing experience. With 5 guys (including myself), the boat starts getting cramped, lines get tangled, etc. Plus, I go out to the deep reefs (51), not the trigger fish reefs, other than to make sardines and mackerel for bait on our way out.

There are some nice white sea bass running out there right now. I heard of one close to 50 lbs. caught this weekend. I have one of the fastest boats in Rocky Point and always have a quality fishing experience. You get what you pay for - $100 triggers and sand bass or $200 seabass, red snappers, gold-spots, grouper, etc.