saf to travel?

505sally

We are thinking of going to RP during Christmas Holiday. However, we have heard that it might not be a safe travel from Arizona to RP.

I am spending a week in RP from Christmas to Jan 4th. I am driving from Phoenix, and I personally think the travel is safe for my family. There has been very few reasons to worry about the Phx to RP trip. The roads are nice, and this travel route is what brings money into RP, so they have much motivation for keeping it safe. I have been traveling down to RP for almost 20 years, and have never had an issue. Take care. Enjoy your trip.

C

Cindi

Hi Sally,

We went to RP for the Thanksgiving holiday and I too was very nervous. I have been to Mexico several times via cruises and flew in a couple of times but never have driven into or throughout Mexico. I was afraid we would get car jacked in the desert or see shoot outs during the drive. After being in RP I feel silly for even wasting my energy thinking the what ifs.

I followed the advice I found posted here like don't drive down to RP at night, follow the speed limit as best as you can and once you get into RP be alerted to the alto signs (sometimes they are hard to see).

I hope you go, enjoy this little paradise, and support the locals. BTW I saw plenty of AZ license plates, I even saw someone from Maine.

Enjoy your trip.

Esperanza

We travel to RP every other weekend to visit our home. We always time our trip so that we cross the border and get "home" before dark. Don't let the "Sky is Falling" crazy's keep you away from such a wonderful place.

Roberto

:mexico::usa::mexico::usa::mexico::usa:While I live in Penasco permanently and don' t cross much anymore, others on this forum make the trip from Phoenix and Tucson regularly and none are are reporting feeling insecure or having problems. I meet with people coming here to vacation regularly and they say the same. I find the town peaceful at Christmas.